Skip Navigation
Monday, 30 November 2015

Monthly Reports

To only see sightings from a particular year, please select the year below and click Apply.
  • November 2015
    Sunday, 1 November 2015 to Monday, 30 November 2015
    Photo of Desert Wheatear at Tarn Bay.
  • September 2015
    Tuesday, 1 September 2015 to Wednesday, 30 September 2015
    Photos of Curlew Sandpiper and Little Stint at Bowness Railings on the Solway.
  • August 2015
    Saturday, 1 August 2015 to Monday, 31 August 2015
    In July and August 2015 Bee-eaters nested at Low Gelt Quarry near Brampton.
  • June 2015
    Monday, 1 June 2015 to Tuesday, 30 June 2015
    Photo highlights are a Wood warbler and a Grasshopper warbler.
  • May 2015
    Friday, 1 May 2015 to Sunday, 31 May 2015
    Photo highlights are a Red-throated diver, Whimbrel and a Woodcock.
  • April 2015
    Wednesday, 1 April 2015 to Thursday, 30 April 2015
    Highlights: A male Bluethroat was photographed near Rogersceuch Farm, Campfield Marsh (8th) and a Hoopoe graced garden in Dent (13th-14th). Two Common Cranes spent an evening in the Lyth Valley (18th) and were then seen circling over Foulshaw Moss next day. Of more doubtful origin, a White Stork flew over Sizergh (13th). The two Great Grey Shrikes lingered at Dalton Crags early in the month.
  • March 2015
    Sunday, 1 March 2015 to Tuesday, 31 March 2015
    Highlights: A rather elusive Richard’s Pipit was seen intermittently near Lowca Rugby Club (8th-18th). A drake Green-winged Teal was found at North Plain Farm (23rd) and a new Great Grey Shrike appeared near Binsey north of Bassenthwaite (22nd-29th). Meanwhile, the Great Grey Shrike reappeared at Dalton Crags where it was joined by a second bird (from 18th-31st).
  • February 2015
    Sunday, 1 February 2015 to Saturday, 28 February 2015

    Highlights: A Great Grey Shrike was found at Torver Back Common (16th).

  • January 2015
    Thursday, 1 January 2015 to Saturday, 31 January 2015

    Highlights: The Great Grey Shrike reappeared briefly at Dalton Crags (5th).

    Esk/Irt/Mite complex: The Esk hosted a single Little Egret while three Greenshank remained on the Mite.

  • December 2014
    Monday, 1 December 2014 to Wednesday, 31 December 2014

    Highlights: The Great Grey Shrike remained in residence at Dalton Crags (to 6th).

    Esk/Irt/Mite complex: The Esk hosted two Little Egrets and a single Greenshank, while up to five Greenshank were on the Mite.