Monthly Reports

To only see sightings from a particular year, please select the year below and click Apply.
  • February 2011
    Tuesday, 1 February 2011 to Monday, 28 February 2011

    Highlights: The drake Green-winged Teal reappeared at Hodbarrow (12th) and another was seen at Campfield Marsh (18th).

  • January 2011
    Saturday, 1 January 2011 to Monday, 31 January 2011

    Highlights: A drake Green-winged Teal appeared for one day only on the saltmarsh pool at Campfield Marsh (1st) while, at the opposite end of the county, the Hodbarrow bird reappeared (22nd-24th) before relocating to the Mite Estuary near Ravenglass (29th). Great Grey Shrikes were found near Dalton Crags (7th) and near Long Marton (7th-28th).

  • December 2010
    Wednesday, 1 December 2010 to Friday, 31 December 2010
    Highlights: A Shorelark found at Sandscale Haws (6th) was the first in the county since one at Walney in 2004. A Great White Egret was found at Beckermet (28th). Last month’s drake Green-winged Teal moved a short distance to a flooded field just west of Millom (11th). A Lesser Whitethroat, considered to be of one of the Central Asian races, was a surprise find alongside the River Kent in Kendal (1st).
  • November 2010
    Monday, 1 November 2010 to Tuesday, 30 November 2010

    Highlights: The Great White Egret continued to show intermittently at Kents Bank (to 23rd) and a drake Green-winged Teal was found at Sandscale Haws (5th) before relocating to Hodbarrow (27th). Great Grey Shrikes appeared at Tarn Hows (9th) and near Spadeadam (13th).

  • October 2010
    Friday, 1 October 2010 to Sunday, 31 October 2010
    Highlights: Yellow-browed Warblers were discovered at St Bees Head (10th), in a Whitrigg garden (16th) and at Walney (6th & 23rd). Grey Phalaropes appeared on flooded fields at Walney (21st-22nd) and near Eaglesfield (30th). A Rough-legged Buzzard (30th) and a Great Grey Shrike (18th) were both at Haweswater. A Great White Egret appeared at Kents Bank (12th-16th) and a drake Green-winged Teal was located at Soddy Gap (29th), both of which were probably returning birds.
  • September 2010
    Wednesday, 1 September 2010 to Thursday, 30 September 2010
    Highlights: A Red-necked Phalarope graced the River Eden near Rockcliffe (14th-16th), a Yellow-browed Warbler visited a garden at Geltsdale (28th) and a Great White Egret was seen at Walney (30th).
  • August 2010
    Sunday, 1 August 2010 to Tuesday, 31 August 2010

     Highlights: The adult Semipalmated Sandpiper remained at Port Carlisle, though elusive at times, (to 5th). Pick of the passerines was a Lapland Bunting found

  • July 2010
    Thursday, 1 July 2010 to Saturday, 31 July 2010

     Highlights: Cumbria's first Semipalmated Sandpiper, an adult, lingered at Port Carlisle (28th-31st)though it initially caused some debate over its identity. A Balearic Shearwater was reported past St Bees Head (25th).

  • June 2010
    Tuesday, 1 June 2010 to Wednesday, 30 June 2010

     Highlights: A drake Green-winged Teal was an unseasonable and unexpected visitor to the saltmarsh pool at Campfield Marsh (3rd-6th) and a Great White Egret was on the River Leven at Newby Bridge (11th).